Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Employee Portal

Energy Northwest Governing Board Elections


Mike Paoli, Public Affairs, 509-713-4950
Angela Smith, Public Affairs, 509-528-3980

RICHLAND, Wash. – The Energy Northwest governing boards elected new officers and members at its public meetings this week in Olympia, Wash.

The Energy Northwest executive board elected Jim Moss to fill a recent vacancy as assistant secretary. Moss will hold this position through June 2019.

Gov. Jay Inslee appointed Moss in 2013 to the EN executive board and re-appointed him in 2014 and 2018 to serve additional terms. In 2012, Moss was appointed director of the Energy Department for the United Association, a multi-craft international union representing plumbers; pipefitters; sprinkler fitters; welders; and heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration  technicians.

The executive board is the policy-making body of Energy Northwest. It has 11 members; five elected from and by the 26-member board of directors, three appointed by board of directors from outside Energy Northwest, and the remaining three appointed by the governor of Washington.

Additionally, EN’s board of directors elected Jim Malinowski of Clark Public Utilities as one of the five inside executive board directors.

Malinowski was elected as a Clark Public Utilities commissioner in 2012. He was appointed by his utility to EN’s board of directors in 2015. He had a 31-year career with Pacific Gas & Electric Company in San Francisco, retiring as manager of the power control department.

The EN board of directors also elected new officers. Commissioner Curt Knapp, Pend Oreille County PUD, will serve as president; Commissioner Dave McKenzie, Skamania County PUD, will serve as vice president; Commissioner Dean Dahlin, Lewis County PUD, will serve as secretary; and Commissioner Kenneth Collins, Jefferson County PUD, will serve as assistant secretary. Officers serve a two-year term.

The public power agency’s 26-member board of directors represents the 21 public utility districts and five municipal utilities that make up Energy Northwest. The board of directors has sole authority to authorize and terminate projects.
Pend Oreille County PUD commissioners appointed Knapp to the EN board of directors in 2011 and he has served as a PUD commissioner since 2001. He previously served as the EN board of director’s secretary and assistant secretary. Knapp has more than 25 years in the funeral industry, having owned and operated funeral homes in Newport, Wash., and Priest River, Idaho; and he serves as deputy coroner in Pend Oreille County.

Skamania County PUD commissioners appointed McKenzie to the EN board of directors in 2017 and he has served as a Skamania County PUD commissioner since 2016. McKenzie has more than 40 years of experience in the private and public sectors including banking, real estate and appraising complex commercial and industrial properties. He was also the mayor of Stevenson, Wash., for 20 years. 

Lewis County PUD appointed Dahlin to the EN board of directors in 2017, and he has served as a Lewis County commissioner since 2013. Dahlin was a locomotive engineer for Union Pacific and retired in 2011 with 42 years of service. Commissioner Dahlin was also the Union Pacific state coordinator for Operation Lifesaver, teaching railroad safety to all ages.

Jefferson County PUD commissioners appointed Collins to the EN board of directors in 2017 and he has served as a Jefferson County PUD commissioner since 2014. Collins served 14 years as a mental health consultant to Pacific Gas & Electric. During 12 years with the Chevron Corporation, Collins managed the company’s international employee assistance program.  

The Energy Northwest consortium, created by the Washington legislature in 1957, takes advantage of economies of scale and shared services to help electric utilities run their operations more efficiently and at lower cost, to the benefit of more than 1.5 million customers.

Editor’s note: Portraits of officers available at: Click here for portraits of officers.      

About Energy Northwest                                                                      

Energy Northwest owns and operates a diverse mix of 100 percent clean electricity generating resources: hydro, solar and wind projects, and the third-largest provider of electricity in Washington – the Columbia Generating Station nuclear power facility. These projects provide carbon-free electricity at the cost of generation – enough clean, full-time and reliable energy to power more than a million homes each year. As an independent joint action agency of Washington state, Energy Northwest comprises 26 public power member utilities from across the state serving more than 1.5 million customers. The agency continually explores new generation projects to meet its members’ needs. In 2016, the Association of Washington Business named Energy Northwest the state’s Employer of the Year.
Visit our website for more information about us.



Sign In