Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Employee Portal

Members, Officers Elected to Nuclear Energy Participant Board


​​RICHLAND, Wash. – Columbia Generating Station stakeholders, representing 92 utilities in six states, elected member utilities and individual officers to the nuclear power plant’s participants review board ​during their public meeting May 13.

The three utility participants elected for a three-year term to the nine-member board are: 

  • ​Jane Van Dyke, Clark Public Utilities   

  • Pete Simonich, Missoula Electric Cooperative 

  • Sid Logan, Snohomish County PUD   

The PRB also elected Stu Nelson, Franklin PUD, as chair; Sid Logan, Snohomish County PUD, as vice-chair; and Ron Gold, Mason County PUD 1, as secretary. Officers serve a one-year term.

Nelson has been a member of the board since 2007, Logan has been a member since 2018 and serves on the Energy Northwest Board of Directors, and Gold has been a member since 2017.   

The PRB reviews Columbia’s annual budget and fuel management plans, as well as nuclear construction and purchases of more than $500,000.

Columbia Generating Station, a 1,207-megawatt boiling water reactor owned and operated by Energy Northwest, is the third largest generator of electricity in Washington state.

All of Columbia’s electricity is sold at-cost to the Bonneville Power Administration. The 92 utilities that receive a portion of Columbia’s output are located in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, and California.

About Energy Northwest                                                                                             

Energy Northwest develops, owns and operates a diverse mix of electricity generating resources, including hydro, solar, battery storage and wind projects – and the Northwest’s only nuclear power facility. These projects provide carbon-free electricity at the cost of generation – enough clean, cost-effective and reliable energy to power more than a million homes each year. As an independent joint operating agency of Washington state, Energy Northwest comprises 27 public power member utilities from across the state serving more than 1.5 million customers. The agency continually explores new generation projects to meet its members’ needs. 

Sign In