Minutes of the Energy Northwest Special Executive Board / Board of Directors Meeting Red Lion Hotel – Columbia Center – Clearwater Room 1101 N. Columbia Center Blvd. Kennewick, Wash. Oct. 23, 2014

Chair Sid Morrison reconvened the regular meeting of the Executive Board of Energy Northwest at 8:01 a.m. in the Clearwater Room of the Red Lion Hotel – Columbia Center, Kennewick, Wash. Board of Directors President Linda Gott called to order the Joint Executive Board and Board of Directors meeting at 8:02 a.m. There was a quorum present. An environmental analysis of the Oct. 23, 2014, special Joint Executive Board and Board of Directors meeting agenda had been prepared which reflected that all items on the agenda were exempt from further procedural compliance with the State Environmental Policy Act.

Roll Call

Executive Board Members

Sid Morrison, Chair Marc Daudon Linda Gott Jack Janda Skip Orser Will Purser Lori Sanders Tim Sheldon Kathy Vaughn

Board of Directors Members

PUD No. 1 of Asotin County PUD No. 1 of Benton County PUD No. 1 of Ferry County PUD No. 2 of Chelan County PUD No. 1 of Clallam County PUD No. 1 of Clark County PUD No. 1 of Cowlitz County PUD No. 1 of Franklin County PUD No. 2 of Grant County PUD No. 1 of Grays Harbor County PUD No. 1 of Jefferson County PUD No. 1 of Kittitas County PUD No. 1 of Kittitas County PUD No. 1 of Klickitat County PUD No. 1 of Lewis County PUD No. 1 of Mason County	Judy Ridge Lori Sanders Doug Aubertin Ann Congdon Will Purser Nancy Barnes Buz Ketcham Bill Gordon Terry Brewer Arie Callaghan Barney Burke Shan Rowbotham Dan Gunkel Chuck TenPas Jack Janda	Present Present Absent Absent Absent Absent Present
•		

PUD No. 1 of Okanogan County	Steve Houston	Present
PUD No. 2 of Pacific County	Diana Thompson	Present
PUD No. 1 of Pend Orielle County	Curt Knapp	Present
PUD No. 1 of Skamania County	Clyde Leach	Absent
PUD No. 1 of Snohomish County	Kathy Vaughn	Present
PUD No. 1 of Wahkiakum County	Bob Jungers	Present
City of Centralia	M.L. Norton	Absent
City of Port Angeles	Phil Lusk	Present
City of Richland	Robert Hammond	Absent
Seattle City Light	Mike Jones	Present
Tacoma Public Power	Bill Gaines	Absent

<u>Others Present</u>: Participants Review Board members – Karl Denison, Stu Nelson, Clay Smith and Susan Thraen; Energy Northwest member commissioners – Dean Dahlin and Dale Walker; Deborah Sliz, Morgan Meguire; Phillip Smith, BPA; Shirley Reese, Reese Government Relations; Jim Rowland, Rowland Co; Blaine Johnson, PSAV; Phil Smith; Bruce Landry, Potomac; George Caan, WPUDA; and John Francisco, Inland Power & Light.

<u>Staff Present:</u> Mark Reddemann, Brad Sawatzke, Brent Ridge, Grover Hettel, Bob Dutton, Jim Gaston, Mike Paoli, Dave Briggs, Bill Guldemond, Carla Martinez and Angela Smith.

Special Joint Executive Board / Board of Directors Meeting

Comments from Members of the Public

Hearing no comments from members of the public, the next item on the agenda was addressed.

Meritorious Service Awards

Executive Board Chair Sid Morrison and Nuclear Safety and Oversight Committee Chair Skip Orser presented the Meritorious Service Awards to the Residual Heat Removal Pump 2B team in recognition for successfully planning and completing the replacement of Residual Heat Removal Pump 2B, a critical nuclear safety system component. The team members receiving the award included: Timothy Albee, Marianne Banta, Brian Berglin, Ryan Downing, Eric Fazzari, John Fisher, Dwayne Gregory, Grover Hettel, Jim Hysjulien, Alex Javorik, Scott Metzger, Jason Modrell, Arnold (Doc) Owens, Craig Parker, James Pedro, Robert Rhodes, Jamey Rich, Michael Rowe, Richard Schultz Sr., Kevin Smith and Raymond Thomson.

Chief Executive Officer Report

Mr. Mark Reddemann, Chief Executive Officer, discussed the following: Goizueta Directors Institute, an industry CEO / peer conference, Safe Day, Energy Northwest's 17th annual Member Forum, Washington Nuclear Science Week, Nuclear Science Week in Seattle, Senate Energy Committee / Nuclear Task Force Testimony, Used Fuel Settlement, the recent New York Financial Trip, CEO recognition and high-level asset performance review.

Mr. Reddemann wrapped up by addressing several questions from the governing boards.

Report from the Chief Nuclear Officer

Mr. Brad Sawatzke, Vice President of Nuclear Generation and Chief Nuclear Officer, presented the Chief Nuclear Officer Report. Key points included: plant status, station focuses and significant operating experience.

Mr. Sawatzke shared a video titled "Earthquake and Tsunami countermeasures at HNPS".

The meeting recessed at 10:02 a.m. for a break; the meeting reconvened at 10:12 a.m.

Mr. Sawatzke continued his presentation focusing on nuclear news, upcoming events and Columbia Generating Station performance indicators.

Columbia Generating Station Cycle 22 Coastdown Length Projection

Mr. Miguel Armenta, Reactor Fuels manager, presented on Columbia Generating Station's cycle 22 Coastdown length projection. Key points included: a background of what a coastdown is, typical coastdown lengths, the purpose, energy requirements and Columbia's coastdown projection.

Hearing no further discussion, the Special Joint Executive Board and Board of Directors meeting moved directly into the Board of Directors regular meeting at 10:37 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Angela Smith Board Relations